Skip to content

Cable Card Setup with Vista Media Center Successful

April 10, 2007

Somewhat surprisingly, the install of the two Cablecards in my new Vista Media Center PC went quite smoothly. The Comcast technician was in our house for less than 45 minutes.

The only slight hiccup was that one of the Cablecards was bad an needed to be replaced. This was a surprise to neither of us. (Why is the failure rate for these items so high?)

I can now watch the full range of digital cable and high definition shows on our Xbox 360 Media Center extenders.

Interestingly, I can also watch all of these shows on the old LCD monitor I have hooked up to the Media Center PC in our server room. It isn’t DVI and certainly isn’t HDCP compliant. I had thought that I wouldn’t be able to actually view any digital cable content on this monitor from all I had read. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I was wrong.

There are a few other issues with non-TV media (e.g. connecting to media files stored on Small Business Server with my extenders, and some event log errors that I’ll try to sort through this evening) but for now, all seems to be well.

One Comment
  1. James permalink

    Incredibly cool, thanks for the great reporting on this. As far as I can tell, you’re the first. Keep ’em coming!

Leave a Reply

