Skip to content

Finishing Up the Vista Media Center Setup

April 12, 2007

After getting the Cablecard tuners installed yesterday morning, yesterday evening I brought my implementation of Media Center back up to where the functionality was under my mature XP Media Center setup:

  • I set up a logon script for each Media Center Extender user, e.g. MCX1, so that they could access files in share directories on Small Business Server. I had hoped that with Vista Ultimate being able to join a domain, that this kludge would no longer be necessary, but it looks like I was wrong.
  • I installed MyMovies 2.20. This was a noticeable improvement over MyMovies 2.11 in ease of use and slickness. A really nice application.
  • I installed Transcode 360, but only with local user privileges– making it unusable from extenders. I think I’ve fixed this problem, but have not yet tested it.
  • Library updates for extenders are not done very well In Vista Media Center. This was a big problem in XP MCE 2005, along with slow access to large libraries. The latter is not an issue for me, but the former seems to require either a manual update or a long time spent on the music page while Media Center slowing updates its index to reflect new media and delete old media.
  • Is there any good reason why each Extender has to keep it library independent of a central library that could be updated continuously?

 

3 Comments
  1. Bryan permalink

    I ran into that problem with extenders in MCE2005 early on and was really hoping it would be addressed with Vista.  I guess not.  I run a batch file to keep all the libraries synched after any music is added to my library but you’re right, there really isn’t much of a reason this should be necessary.

  2. Todd permalink

    >> Library updates for extenders are not done very well In Vista Media Center. This was a big problem in XP MCE 2005, along with slow access to large libraries.
     
    I did not mind the process for adding new media, but I find Vista MCE management _much_ slower than XP.  Browsing recorded TV or my music media is annoyingly slow.  It is failing the wife factor.  She wants MCE 2005 back just for the speed – which was nothing to brag about to begin with.
     
    >> Is there any good reason why each Extender has to keep it library independent of a central library that could be updated continuously?
     
    I’ve often wondered the same thing.  I have 3 360’s around the house and it seems silly that they cannot all share the same DB as an option. 

Leave a Reply

