Skip to content

New Velocity Micro PC Arrives

May 1, 2007

My new "production" machine arrived while we were out of town last Friday and I started to set it up yesterday. I had been sufficiently impressed with Velocity Micro’s level of support and engagement in getting CableCard PCs up and running that I decided to buy my new gaming/office PC from them as well. I have had my old PC for what seems like three years (it shipped with a Radeon 9800 Pro graphics card!), so it was time for something new. (Fortunately almost all of my gaming has been done on the Xbox 360 since it arrived, so I haven’t suffered too badly.)

Here are the relevant specs: Core 2 Duo E6600, 2GB RAM, 500GB SATA HD, EVGA nVidia 8800 GTS 640MB, extended case with blue lights. Cost with three year on-site service and technical support– about $2700.

After particularly annoying experiences with HP support, and similar experiences with Dell in the past, I decided to try paying a premium for a better supported product. I really won’t know whether this was worth it until my first big problem.

As part of the process of setting up the new PC, I added a 500GB hard drive from my old Media Center PC to the 500B drive that the PC shipped with. Amazingly this PC came with a whole bag of accessories, including cables! Setting up the drive was painless although the the nicely tied cables made be reluctant to add my own untied cables, and to break some of the ties holding back the power cables. There was plenty of space to add the drive, but adding other drives would have required removing the frame that holds the hard drives in order to screw in mounting screws for the drives. (Whatever their other problems some of the most easily accessible and user friendly cases I’ve worked with have been Dells).

The setup of the OS and basic apps went as well as with the other new PCs I’ve connected to Small Business Server 2003. As with the other Velocity Micro PC I purchased there was no crapware! 

However, setting up this PC would also require transferring 300+ GB of media files that I am working with (e.g home videos in process), games and other applications that I keep only on my PC. That process is proving more time consuming for reasons I’ll try to discuss tomorrow.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

