Skip to content

Sanyo Xacti VPC-HD1000

November 19, 2007

My interest in the above product was piqued by this review linked to by Engadget.

Engadget concludes:

Overall, the HD1000 wasn’t totally slammed nor lifted up on a pedestal, but we’d probably hold off on this unless you’re cool with a "jack of two trades, but master of neither."

That might be true for many, but maybe not for me, for several reasons:

  • The ability to put this in a coat pocket means that I am much more likely to take this product with me on family weekend outings. A subpar camera that you take with you is superior to a great camera that stays at home.
  • I seldom take both a video and still camera with me anywhere for the same reasons of bulk. This potentially solves that problem.
  • I am not that unhappy with my current video camera (Sony TRV-18) and still camera (Minolta Dimage Z3). My biggest gripes about each are: (i) the bulk and time to download and compress video from the TRV-18; and (ii) the bulk and low light performance of the Z3. The Xacti VPC-HD1000 potentially addresses all but the poor low light performance concerns. 

I would not want to to buy a new camera only to take a step back in one area. Although this camera might be subpar in video and still performance by today’s standards, it seems to hold out the possibility of providing me just the improvements I was looking for in my old technology cameras.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

