Skip to content

Vista Media Center Applications to Use with Extenders

February 11, 2008

Because I run Media Center exclusively through extenders, many of the cool Media Center applications are unavailable (at least as a practical matter) to me. There are however four very nice applications that I would encourage users to install. All work with Vista and all work well with extenders:

  • My Movies – used for accessing ripped and converted DVDs on any extender
  • Media Center Health Monitor – a nice free application from Ian Dixon that will let you know remotely if there are problems with TV recordings and the like
  • Big Screen Photos 2 and Big Screen Weather 2 – two really well put together applications that use MCML (Media Center Markup Language) for a very nice extender experience. Even though I don’t have any pressing need for either of these features in my Media Center setup, these applications were so cool that I gladly paid registration fee for each.

I am always on the lookout for other nice MCML applications, so hopefully I’ll be adding to this list as MCML development ramps up.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

