Skip to content

Making Vista Boot Faster

February 24, 2008

I had been experiencing cold boot times of over five minutes on my Vista Ultimate PC, so I decided to follow up on some of Ed Bott’s advice from a November post and was able to cut the boot time roughly in half. At the end of the day, with all non-Microsoft startup items disabled, AntiVir antivirus software, no PDA plugged into USB port and Google as the page to load, I can boot to a loaded web page in about 2:40.

This may not be great, but it is significantly better than the more than five minutes the bootup took previously. I should note that this PC is connected to a Small Business Server 2003 domain so that might affect my boot time as well.

Here is the marginal impact of some of the changes I made:

  • Using My.Yahoo as the start page added about 30 seconds.
  • Using AVG antivirus in place of AntiVir added about 60 seconds.
  • Plugging my HTC Mogul into the USB port added about 45 seconds.
  • Disabling a bunch of startup items seemed to take a little over 60 seconds off the boot time. Interestingly, I haven’t missed these at all– with the possible exception of the Vista Sidebar.

I also note that switching from AVG antivirus to AntiVir may well have detected a couple of viruses that AVG had missed as well as it noted activity from two files that should not have been executing.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

