Skip to content

Playing DVDs on Media Center

April 8, 2008

This weekend I embarked on ripping about 40 DVDs and converting them to MPEG2 files playable in Vista Media Center using MyMovies. I had previously described my process, but I learned this evening that when MyMovies plays back an MPEG2 file on an Xbox 360 Media Center Extender, it only will play audio if it is in stream x80. This is the default for the main audio for most DVDs (but not all– as I learned the hard way). Luckily, I was able to use VideoRedo to convert the VOB files from these DVDs (once reauthored into a single VOB file using DVDShrink) to DVR-MS files, which solves the problem.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

