Skip to content

Podcasts Are Hard to Conveniently Listen To – Part 1

May 12, 2008

Since moving to the suburbs a little over two years ago I have started listening to podcasts on my 35 minute commute to the office. I have discovered some that I really enjoy: BloggingHeads.tv; Games for Windows; 1Up Yours; The Media Center Show; and Engadget HD to name a few.

Despite considerable time and resources spent on digital media devices and infratructure, listening to podcasts is made more difficult than it should be in a variety of ways:

  • Automatic downloads of podcasts are less reliable than they should be
  • Accessing podcasts (including syncing) on Windows Mobile Devices is less than ideal
  • Resuming a partially listened to podcast can be challenging
  • Unless I use my Windows Mobile Device, there i sno good way to listen to podcasts in the car

Part of my discontent relates to my high standards for convenience. But given the scarcity of free time, I would like to spend as little time as possible setting up my media so that I can actually spend time listening to or watching the media.

That scarcity of time also leads me to want to listen to podcasts in many different places. This desire leads to a number of technical challenges, e.g. the ability to access the media in different places and continue playing a program for where I last left off. These challenges don’t exist for casual music listening or with TV and movies that are usually watched only at home in a single sitting.

Podcast listening seems to require pushing the digital media envelope in ways that I’ll elaborate on in future posts coming soon. These posts will include my experience trying the new Logitech Squeezebox Duet digital media player.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

