Skip to content

Home Automation Systems

May 13, 2008

Ben Drawbaugh writes that he has found a nice solution to his home lighting control problems. I was glad to see he found a solution that works for his Insteon switched. I have been using some Insteon switches from Smarthome in X-10 mode (together with HomeSeer and an USB interface device) and that has worked reasonably well for me– except for one room where control is inconsistent.

We put in a host of X-10 switches about three years ago when we remodeled our house at a cost of about $1600 for parts. I didn’t do much research when I went with X-10, other than that it was relatively inexpensive. Having done more research later, I now realize that people have problems with all sorts of control systems X-10, Z-Wave, Insteon, so I am not sure what I would pick if doing this today.

As with wireless networking, go with whatever works for you.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

