Skip to content

Success in Trying VIPRE Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware Software

August 22, 2008

I was intrigued by the economical home site license ($50/year for all the PCs in your house) for the new VIPRE anti-virus and anti-spyware application. With seven PCs of various types in our home, this seemed like a great deal. My experience after several days has been nothing but positive.

I had tried the beta version of the application and found it to be problematic and given my past experiences with AVG Antivirus slowing down boot times, I was afraid VIPRE might have similar problems.

I have been pleasantly surprised. My boot times have never been faster with VIPRE installed (I now boot and am able to load the Google front page in 2:10, 30 seconds fast than with AntiVir. Unlike AVG and Antivir, I don’t get popups and slow installations of updates. I am encouraged as well by the fact that Sunbelt touts VIPRE as not being a resource hog. This claim seems to be anecdotally supported in some of the reviews I have seen.

I am using the two-week trial on my home office PC now, but if the trial continues to go well, I will buy a site license and deploy VIPRE on all our home PCs.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

