Skip to content

My Experience with the Blackberry Bold – Part 1

May 10, 2009

A few days before our recent trip to Europe, I decided that I needed PDA/Phone that I could use overseas on the trip. Our MIS department set me up with a new Blackberry Bold and I have no intention of going back to my HTC Mogul on the Sprint network. My firm pays for the data plan, so that isn’t an issue for me. Here are some of my initial thoughts on the Bold, in no particular order:

  • It is great having a phone and internet connection on a phone I can use overseas.
  • The trackball generally works great for navigating—as well or better than a stylus or touch screen. I occasionally miss scroll bars, however.
  • In general, the browser on the Bold works as well or better than that on my Windows Mobile 6 phone.
  • But… I find myself unable to download large files or web pages getting an error that the requested amount of data is too large.
  • The A2DP stereo Bluetooth connection is not as solid as that I experienced with the HTC Mogul. Often, I will get dropouts when the phone is in my pocket. This problem seems to be lessened significantly, if I am not running any application other than the music player.
  • The lack of native support for reading scanned PDF files is somewhat annoying.

More later…

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

