Skip to content

Neat Products at CES 2010: Part 1

January 10, 2010

This year I plan to write a few short posts briefly describing those products I came across in walking the show floor, that I want to keep any eye on. To increase the odds I will actually complete this task this year. I’ll keep the descriptions short:

The Boxee Box: I don’t see this coming to our house. The odd shaped box won’t stack nicely with other AV equipment and I don’t see what ths brings to the table that PlayOn doesn’t bring to our existing Xbox 360s.

Schlage Link Lock: We have been using a key pad deadbolt for the past six years. The concept has been great, but the quality of the lock has been suspect. I’d like to believe the Schlage lock is better, and the potential to be tied into our home automation system later if we get a Z-Wave interface seems attractive too.

EntourageEdge: A dual screen (our resistive touch screen and one e-Ink), Android based eBook reader. The hardware looked cool enough to justify the premium price of a little less than $500, but I wonder about the breadth of books that will be available and whether I need an eBook reader at all.

The Powramid: Better than a power strip for almost all of my purposes. Worth the $24 price if it really can accomodate the vast majority of my AC adapters.

Dension WiDrive: Promises to bring a Wifi network to your car, working off a cell 3G connection. Also let’s you listen to internet radio and sync files on a hard drive in you car with your home wireless network. I’ve been looking for something like this for a while. But in that while, iPod Touches have become cheaper and have much larger storage capacities. Is the wireless sync (vs. the sneakernet of a dedicated iPod Touch) worth the trouble?

Ooma Free Home Phone Service: This was the second year I saw Ooma a CES, giving me some more confidence that they’ll continue to be around. The promise of no more monthly phone fees is certainly tempting, especially as we now are paying about $100/month for our two lines.

Home

HSTI Wireless Media Stick: It wasn’t really clear how this worked, but the promise was to make files shared from a PC over a Wifi network available to devices that expect files on a USB thumb drive. I t wasn’t clear whether this requires server software running on the PC.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

