Skip to content

Are There No Good Inexpensive All-In-One Printers?

March 10, 2010

I have recently been having problems with my Brother 7820N All-In-One laser printer. Drum errors prevent it from printing reliably. A search of the internet has revealed that this problem has occurred to others like me with relatively new drums.

I then considered buying an inexpensive (i.e. less than $150) inkjet networked all-in-one from HP (OfficeJet 6500) or Canon (Pixma MX860) figuring that I would not want to invest a lot of money in a new printer only to have it go bad like the drum on my Brother. But the more I looked at these printers, the more I became convinced (from user reviews) that neither of these printers gets stellar reviews, they seem to consume large quantities of ink and the cost of a full ink refill exceeds $50 for each.

So I am going to give my Brother another chance with a cheap drum replacement ($30) and toner replacement (3 for $50). I could buy genuine Brother replacements, but these would rival the cost of a whole new printer. If this doesn’t solve my problem, I’ll be back in the market for a new all-in-one printer. I might even be willing to pay more for one with cheaper consumables and stellar reviews, but I don’t think that beast exists.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

